top of page
Search

Week 8 - The Final Week of My VI Experience.



Last Friday, I handed in the last blog for Adaface. I definitely had/ still have mixed emotions about it. I am sad that I will no longer be working with the team - especially Keerthi, but am grateful that I had the opportunity to experience working for Adaface virtually and gaining a better understanding of content creation and comms in action.


I am not completely done as I still have to finish up the last of career bridge - the Virtual Internship course work and write the paper's assignments. However, the real heavy part of my VI Experience is over.


In this blog, I will reflect on my experience by sharing 3 stand out factors about my VI Experience.


Firstly, the connections you build with colleagues.

During the internship, you become close to colleagues. As you learn more about the

communication style that each colleague has, cross-cultural communication

differences, and how to juggle working with timezones, these relationships naturally

strengthen.


While I mainly worked one-on-one, Adaface is based out of India, and India is seven

and a half hours behind New Zealand, I think that I have managed to build

connections with my colleagues that will last.


I think that this is especially true for my supervisor, who I worked one-on-one with, as

we became particularly close.


Being a really extroverted person, I think that putting in the effort to develop

relationships have made the experience easier.


Secondly, the self-understanding you take away.

At the beginning of the internship, I had quite a few set ideas about what I wanted to

do career-wise and what I enjoyed work-wise. I think that by doing this internship I

have become less rigid in my plans, realised the parts of communications that

I enjoy and those that I don't, and realised the real value of face-to-face

communication.


I think that this experience has made me more reflective, aware, and mature about

where I am and where I want to go.


Thirdly, the global network you build.

This was tricky, but we got there in the end. I think that doing this internship you need

to be prepared to put yourself out there but once you do the network you build is

really amazing.


I now have connections from Dubai, the U.S., Italy, India, and Singapore, to name a

few. Not only is this incredibly valuable as I want to work internationally, but getting

to know different people has allowed me to learn about different experiences and

perspectives.


Overall, while there have been challenges along the way, they have helped me learn and have made me more adaptable. This internship experience has led to many opportunities and friendships, and I am confident going forth that it will continue to be of benefit.


I would highly recommend that other students choose the Virtual Internship Program.








12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page